2024-2025 Commonwealth Master’s Scholarship for Distance Learning in Developing Countries

Written by admin

Applications are currently open for the 2024–2025 Commonwealth Distance Learning Masters Scholarships. This program, administered by the Commonwealth Scholarships Commission, is one of three Master’s programs available through the Commission.

The Commonwealth Scholarship Commission in the UK (CSC) administers the UK government scholarship scheme with international development goals in mind. This scheme operates within the framework of the Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan (CSFP) and underscores the UK’s lasting commitment to the Commonwealth. By attracting exceptionally talented individuals from diverse backgrounds and supporting them to become leaders and innovators upon returning to their home countries, the CSC’s initiatives merge sustainable development with the UK’s national interests, fostering opportunities for international collaboration and partnerships.


Funded by the UK Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office (FCDO), Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships aim to provide access to training and skills essential for sustainable development, which may not be available in applicants’ home countries.

Eligibility Criteria:

In order to qualify for a Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarship, applicants must:

  • Candidates must be citizens of an eligible Commonwealth country, hold refugee status granted by such a country, or be a British Protected Person to qualify.
  •  Applicants must be permanent residents of a developing Commonwealth country.
  • Applicants should possess a first degree with at least an upper second-class (2:1) standard. In some instances, lower qualifications along with significant relevant experience may be taken into account.
  • Be unable to afford the program without this scholarship.

Eligible Countries:

Bangladesh, Belize, Botswana, Cameroon, Dominica, Eswatini, Fiji, Gabon, Ghana, Grenada, Guyana, India, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea , Malaysia, Maldives, Mauritius, Montserrat, Rwanda, Saint Helena, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, The Gambia, Togo, Tonga, Tuvalu, Uganda, Samoa, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Vanuatu, Zambia.


  • A Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarship covers tuition fees and study grants if required. Concurrent holding of other scholarships, awards, or bursaries covering the same expenses is not permitted.

Selection Process:

Each participating UK institution will conduct its own recruiting method to choose a set number of candidates for Distance Learning Scholarships. Universities are required to submit their chosen applicants to the CSC in early May 2024. The CSC will then verify that these applicants meet the eligibility criteria for the scheme, and universities will notify applicants of their outcomes in July 2024.

Criteria for selection include:

  • Academic excellence of the applicant
  • Potential impact of the applicant’s work on the development of their home country

Selecting a University/Course:

The “How to Apply” tab provides a list of eligible courses for 2024, categorized by CSC development theme. Candidates may find the following resources helpful when researching their choice of institution:

  • Study the UK-British Council website, offering guidance for international students and a search feature for courses and institutions
  • – a resource for postgraduate students, providing a course search function
  • Research Excellent Framework 2021 results – showcasing the quality of research in UK higher education institutions
  • UCAS Postgraduate – offering guidance on finding and applying for postgraduate courses
  • Unistats – the official platform for comparing data on UK higher education courses
  • UKCISA (UK Council for International Student Affairs) – providing advice for international students on selecting a course of study

Application Process:

Applications for Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships for the 2024–25 academic year are now open, with a deadline of 16:00 GMT on Thursday, 28 March 2024. Scholarships are for study commencing in September/October 2024. Applications must be submitted through the CSC’s online application system. The CSC does not accept applications or documentation submitted by any other means. Candidates must also seek admission to an accredited Master’s program at a recognized UK university in addition to submitting an application for a Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarship through the CSC’s online platform.

View the full list of approved courses and participating UK universities on the official website.

For More Information:

Application Deadline: 28, 2024, 16:00 GMT on Thursday

About the author


Leave a Comment