2024 AAS Olusegun Obasanjo Prize for Science and Technology Innovation

Written by admin

Applications are currently being accepted for the 2024 Olusegun Obasanjo Prize for Scientific Discovery and/or Technological Innovation. This prestigious award, presented by the African Academy of Sciences, aims to recognize and honor African scientists who have made exceptional contributions to scientific discovery or technological innovation.

The African Academy of Sciences is dedicated to fostering a vibrant scientific community in Africa and encouraging scientific discovery and technological innovation to drive socio-economic development on the continent.

The Olusegun Obasanjo Prize is awarded biennially to individual scientists or groups whose work has led to significant social and economic benefits for Africa’s development. These breakthroughs may stem from advanced research in academic or research institutions, or from observations rooted in indigenous and local knowledge systems.

The International Prize Committee is responsible for selecting the recipient(s) of the Olusegun Obasanjo Prize through a rigorous evaluation process. The committee ensures that the awardees meet stringent criteria and have made breakthroughs with a tangible positive impact on sustainable development, including natural resource management and environmental protection.

Eligibility Criteria:

  • Nominees are evaluated based on their merit and achievements.
  • Nominees must be actively involved in the scientific or technological field in which they have made significant contributions.
  • The nominee’s work should either be patented or have the potential to lead to a patent.
  • The nominee’s work should have a multiplier effect, contributing to broader socio-economic benefits.

The Prize is available to all African scientists and technologists, regardless of gender, ethnicity, or geographic location.  However, individuals employed by or serving as senior advisors to the AAS are ineligible for nomination, as are current members of the AAS’s governing bodies.


The Chief Obasanjo Prize will be presented in the following fields:

  • Biotechnology
  • Energy
  • Information and communication technologies
  • Material sciences

Funding Details

The Prize, awarded biennially, comprises four elements:

  • A cash prize of US$5,000 (subject to review by the Governing Council (GC) of the AAS)
  • An Inscribed Gold Medal
  • A Certificate Citation
  • Election into AAS Fellowship

The Prize may be granted to an individual or shared jointly by two or more recipients, who will equally divide the cash award.

Application Process

For additional details,

Application Deadline: May 3, 2024.

About the author


Leave a Comment