Scholarships By Level

Coimbra Group Short-Term Scholarship Program 2024 for Young Researchers from Sub-Saharan Africa

Written by admin

Applications are currently being accepted for the 2024 Coimbra Group Short Stay Scholarship Programme. Universities within the Coimbra Group are offering short-term visits, typically ranging from 1 to a maximum of 3 months, to young African researchers from higher education institutions in Sub-Saharan Africa.

The primary objective of this scholarship initiative is to facilitate scholars conducting research aligned with their ongoing work at their home institution and to facilitate the establishment of academic and research networks in Europe. Financial support for these scholarships is provided by the Coimbra Group member universities participating in the program, while administrative management of the applications is overseen by the Coimbra Group Office. It is important to note that certain Coimbra Group Universities may limit eligibility to specific Sub-Saharan countries only. To ascertain if your country qualifies, please refer to the “Remarks” section in the table provided at the end of this document. While the language of instruction at most universities is the official language of the country, many institutions offer the option of using English as the working language.

The following Coimbra Group universities are participating in the 2024 edition of this scholarship program:

  • University of Barcelona (Spain)
  • University of Coimbra (Portugal)
  • University of Cologne (Germany)
  • Trinity College Dublin (Ireland)
  • University of Granada (Spain)
  • University of Graz (Austria)
  • University of Groningen (The Netherlands)
  • Istanbul University (Turkey)
  • Jagiellonian University in Krakow (Poland)
  • Leiden University (The Netherlands)
  • University of Padova (Italy)
  • University of Pavia (Italy)
  • University of Poitiers (France)
  • Charles University in Prague (Czech Republic)
  • University of Salamanca (Spain)
  • University of Siena (Italy)
  • University of Turku (Finland)
  • University of Würzburg (Germany)

Eligibility Criteria:

Applicants must meet ALL of the following criteria concurrently:

  • Born after January 1, 1978.
  • Nationals of and current residents in a Sub-Saharan African country.
  • Current staff members of a university or equivalent higher education institution in Sub-Saharan Africa.
  • Preferably holding doctoral/postdoctoral or equivalent status.
  • In possession of an acceptance letter/email from the tutor/partner with whom the work program will be conducted at the host institution. This document is mandatory.
  • Utilize the Coimbra Group Office’s electronic application process.
  • Apply to only one university.
  • Submitting more than one application will render them invalid.
  • Submit all information in English only.

For Further Information:

Application Deadline: April 5, 2024, at midnight (Brussels time)

About the author


Leave a Comment