Enhanced Visibility: UNESCO-Hamdan Prize 2023/2024 Recognizing Teacher Development

Written by admin

The UNESCO-Hamdan Prize for Teacher Development was established in 2008 to bolster the enhancement of teaching and learning quality, aligned with the Sustainable Development Goal 4 on education—a prime focus of UNESCO.

Granted biennially, this esteemed prize is generously funded by the Hamdan bin Rashid Al Maktoum Foundation for Distinguished Academic Performance (Hamdan Foundation).

Founded in 1998 by His Highness Sheikh Hamdan bin Rashid Al-Maktoum, Deputy Ruler of Dubai and UAE’s Minister of Finance, the Foundation aims to foster educational excellence, promote giftedness, and foster innovation to elevate educational performance across all levels and sectors. It honors various groups, educational authorities, and institutions for exceptional contributions and advancements.

The Prize stands at US $300,000, equally distributed among three winners, recognizing projects dedicated to enhancing the global performance and effectiveness of teachers.

Nomination Protocol:

UNESCO Member States’ governments, through their National Commissions to UNESCO, and Non-Governmental Organizations (NGOs) in official partnership with UNESCO, can propose up to 5 nominations each. Self-nominations are not permissible.

  • National Commissions: The nomination letter is formulated by the President or Secretary General of the National Commission.
  • NGOs in official partnership with UNESCO: The nomination letter is composed by the President or Director-General at the central office. In case of branches, the Head of the NGO branch may draft the nomination letter, provided there’s confirmation that the candidate nomination has been approved by the executive leadership at the central office, which should accompany the branch’s nomination letter.

Criteria for Selection:

Submitted projects should have significantly contributed to improving teaching and learning, aligning with UNESCO’s principles and objectives in this domain. The criteria include:

  • Demonstrating innovation aimed at enhancing the quality and effectiveness of teaching
  • Developing teaching materials or specialized aids fosters innovative teaching and learning.
  • Mobilizing initiatives or resources that contribute to improving teaching quality.
  • Strengthening coordination and research endeavors support teacher quality and effectiveness.


  • Online application submission deadline: January 31, 2024
  • Meeting of the International Jury: May-June 2024
  • Award ceremony and announcement of laureates: October 2024 (World Teachers’ Day)

Method of Application:

For further details and application procedures,

Application Deadline: January 31, 2024

About the author


Leave a Comment