Fully Funded 2024 Australia Awards Fellowships & Professional Development Short Courses for Studying in Australia

Written by admin

The Australia Awards offer the next generation of global leaders a unique opportunity to engage in studies, research, and professional development within Australia.

Eligibility for Australian organizations: Australian organizations, including government institutions, businesses, and non-governmental organizations, are eligible to apply. They must be legal entities with an Australian Business Number and should demonstrate connections with partner organizations in participating countries. These organizations are expected to provide in-kind or financial contributions to support Fellowships. Individual applications are not accepted.

Fellow Eligibility:

Nominated Fellows must meet these general eligibility requirements:

  • Be at least 18 years old at the start of the Fellowship.
  • Not be permanent residents of Australia, applicants for Australian permanent residency, or partners of such individuals.
  • Hold citizenship in an eligible country.
  • Not be currently serving military personnel.
  • Fulfill all Department of Home Affairs requirements for DFAT-sponsored student visas in subclass 500.
  • Have the capacity to engage in the fellowship.
  • Be capable of traveling without family members since DFAT will only fund and provide visa support for individual fellows, not their family members.
  • Fellows with disabilities requiring assistance must travel with a carer.

Priority Areas:

Fellowship programs must align with these six development priority areas:

  • Climate change, adaptation, resilience, and green energy transition
  • Promotion of gender equality, inclusion of people with disabilities, and fostering social integration
  • Health.
  • Digital Economy (encompassing cyber, crucial technology, and media engagement)
  • Maritime and the Blue Economy
  • Infrastructure and connectivity.

Award Type:

Australia Awards Fellowships offer short-term opportunities for in-Australia study, research, and professional development activities hosted by Australian organizations. These activities do not lead to academic qualifications, and the selection process is competitive.

Fellowship Grant:

Australian organizations have the opportunity to seek financial support, amounting to a maximum of AUD $34,500 per Fellow, and they can nominate a maximum of 15 Fellows:

  • Return air travel and relevant in-Australia travel
  • Training costs.
  • Accommodation and living expenses
  • Medical insurance costs for the Fellowship holder when in Australia
  • Special assistance for individuals with disabilities.
  • Program overhead fee.

Application Procedure:

The application process for Round 19 is currently active and requires online submission through Smartygrants. The deadline for submission is 11.59 p.m. (AEDT) on November 7, 2023. It’s important to note that applications sent via email or fax will not be considered.


Important Dates:

DateWhat is happening?
11 October 2023 (9.00 am AEDT)Commencement of online applications through Smartygrants.
7 November 2023 (11.59 pm AEDT)Closure of applications. Please be aware that applications
sent by email or fax will not be entertained.
March to June 2024Notification to Australian organizations regarding
the outcomes of Stage 1, which includes the Quad
Infrastructure Fellowships Program and other approved
proposals for the 2023-24 funding. Unsuccessful Round 19
proposals will also receive notifications.
July to September 2024Successful proposals for the 2024/25 funding
will be processed.
No later than six months
before Fellow mobilization
to Australia
Stage 2 involves successful Australian
Host Organizations nominating Fellows and reserves,
updating activity details, confirming travel dates, and
providing additional information via a Supplementary
Forms are available on Smartygrants.

For further details,

The application deadline is 11.59 pm (AEDT) on November 7, 2023

About the author


Leave a Comment